Home > Addictive Behavior, Edgy, Fuck > Ode to Fuck

Ode to Fuck

December 30, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’ve always wanted to blog, but about what. The cardinal rule of blogging, or all writing, is to write about something you’re passionate about and know intimately.  For me that’s the chronic use of Fuck. In all of its glorious derivatives.  Oh sure, I’ve been told on multiple occasions its use is not necessary, that anything that needs to be said can be said just as effectively without it. I wholeheartedly disagree. I’m not for censorship of any kind, and if Fuck is the best choice from your arsenal of descriptive terms, then let it rip.  Why the fuck not!  It’s got punch. It’s got edge. It marks you as ballsy. And frig, frick, flip, and eff are wussy words.  They just don’t fucking cut it.

Can some people describe things with clean language? Hellz yeah.  And I envy those who do. Take my friend Susan for instance.  Where I might respond to something obviously ridiculous with, “Oh my fucking god”, Susan will say “Holy crap”.  It works coming from her.  But not from me.  I enjoy cursing immensely.

And while I’m not a fan of the gratuitous use of Fuck or using it for shock value, I think it’s important, no paramount, that we praise the occasions when it’s applied perfectly, in the media or in everyday use.  Could you imagine Anthony Junior responding to the priest having eaten all the ziti with words other than, “So what, no fucking ziti now?”  Or when Sarah Palin said that small towns are the part of the country she really likes because that’s the pro-America part of the country,  Jon Stewart responded with, “You know, I just want to say to her, just very quickly: Fuck you.” 

See what I mean? If you’re all for keeping it real and agree that fuck should never be forsaken for a weaker term just to keep it clean, let me know. And don’t dilute your response.

Categories: Addictive Behavior, Edgy, Fuck
  1. Kathy
    January 9, 2010 at 3:53 am

    This one reminds me of the letter you once wrote to me all about the word shit. Another classic here, Trish!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. barry
    January 13, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    patty,

    I really don’t fuckin care about the fuck word. I use it at work like is use the word lunch or meeting. bringing attention to this fuckin word makes people uneasy. I even use it in front of my kids who just look at me when I cus. anyway, glad to join in on the coversation. bg

  3. Markle Sparkle
    January 31, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Why the fuck did it take me so long to find your blogfont of universal wisdom?

    • January 31, 2010 at 2:43 pm

      awwwww. thanks sparkle. did you read torching this bridge? hahahaha!

  4. February 26, 2010 at 4:05 am

    you used to be such a nice girl

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

