Top 50 Rock Albums of the Decade

Making lists energizes me.  I get a rush each time I come up with a new item for my list. I can’t rest until my list is complete. Then once it is, I’m pacified and relaxed. I can’t help thinking my body must crave list making because it’s so much like a street drug. Addictive.  I get up.  I get down. And need to continue the cycle.

The best way to explain my dirty little habit is to list the lists I keep on an ongoing basis: To Do (daily, weekly, and rainy day versions), Gift Ideas, My Wish List, Places I Want to Travel, Restaurants I Want to Try, Music I Love, Movies I Love, Names for a Pug (Baby was earlier), Stocks I Should Buy, Photographers I Love, and the list goes on.

Anyway, here are the Top 50 Rock Albums of the Decade (cuz I am a list dork and know my music shit):

50. arctic monkeys – whatever people say i am, that’s what i’m not

49. xx – studio album

48.  the shins -oh, invented world

47. the strokes – is this it

46. blitzen trapper – wild mountain nation

45. black eyed peas – the end

44. the postal service – give up

43. grizzly bear – veckatimest

42. interpol – antics

41. rogue wave – asleep at heaven’s gate

40. kings of leon – because of the times

39. editors – an end has a start

38. lucinda williams – world without tears

37. sonic youth – rather ripped

36. sonic youth – the eternal

35. shout out louds – our ill wills

34. sigur ros – hvarf-heim

33. sigur ros – takk

32. interpol – turn on the bright lights

31. frightened rabbit – the midnight organ fight

30. pinback – autumn in seraphs

29. clap your hands say yeah – clap your hands say yeah

28. thurston moore – trees outside of the academy

27. raconteurs – broken boy soldiers

26. dresden dolls – yes, Virginia

25.  avril lavigne – let go

24. freelance whales – weathervanes

23. fanfarlo – reservoir

22. modest mouse – good news for people who love bad news

21. hold steady – boys and girls in america

20. regina spektor – us

19. rogue wave – descended like vultures

18.lucinda williams – essence

17. yo la tengo – prisoner of love

16. wilco – ghost is born

15. the walkmen – hundred miles off

14. okkervil river – black sheep boy

13. red hot chili peppers – by the way

12. my morning jacket –z

11. flaming lips – yoshimi battles the pink robots

10. coldplay – parachutes

9. pete yorn – music for the morning after

8. sigur ros – (   )

7. the national – the national

6. the national – boxer

5. the national – cherry tree

4. the national – sad songs for dirty lovers

3. wilco – yankee hotel foxtrot

2. radiohead – kid a

1. the national – alligator

  1. January 7, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    I can honestly say that I have not a heard a single one of these albums. I guess I really do live under a rock! I wouldn’t even know how to approach an top 50 of the decade list. Too much research into when stuff came out for me I guess. 2009 was pretty decent though!

  2. Ribski
    January 8, 2010 at 5:04 am

    Good list. But I’m gonna add 10. In no specific order…

    • Dan Auerbach – Keep It Hid
    • Daft Punk – Alive
    • Monsters of Folk – Self Titled
    • Arcade Fire – Neon Bible !!!!!!!
    • Girl Talk – Feed the Animals
    • The White Stripes – Elephant
    • The Black Keys – The Big Come Up
    • Fleet Foxes – Self Titled
    • Red Hot Chili Peppers – Stadium Arcadium
    • Modest Mouse – The Moon & Antarctica

  3. Ribski
    January 8, 2010 at 5:05 am

    Wait..

    • A-Trak – Infinity + 1

  4. January 8, 2010 at 5:30 am

    i clearly missed some! arcade fire, girl talk, black keys, fleet foxes, monsters of folk. so frustrating. lists are such a love-hate thang.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

