Top 10 TV Shows of the Decade

i know my gritty shit and i’m a list dork.  so here are the top 10 tv shows for the decade:

10. entourage – every single person on this show has the sexiest swagger eva. when marky mark produces, you’re guaranteed mind moonshine. bonus points for great soundtracks.

9. chelsea lately – chelsea handler is my own personal jesus. (see girls bore me.) amen sista.

8. 30 rock – when writer and player, tina fey (the lady gaga of television humor) and alec baldwin (the president of in-your-face television humor) get together the result is the best comedy you’ll ever see on network television. 

7. united state of tara – diablo cody (see girls bore me) and toni collette deliver us some very memorable characters: buck the kickass redneck, T the teenage twat, alice the happy homemaker (i want what she’s smoking!), and of course tara an awesome mom who came clean about her multiple personalities.

6. dexter – original premise is brilliant and remains solid: homicide blood spatter analyst is a serial killer himself and kills the serial killers in his cases. talk about a decent mind fuck.  john lithgow was totally compelling as a serial killer in the last season.

5. house – a little opiate does wonders for a doctor’s diagnostic skills.  love me an arrogant oxy-fed doc with a limp.

4. mad men – cigarettes, martinis, girls who wear dresses, gloves, hats and beehives, men who wear hats, and the ad game during the ogilivy era. what a wicked game they play. best hairdo of the decade at right.

3. californication – this story chronicles the life of hank moody, the author who penned “God Hates Us All” and “Fucking and Punching.” need i say more? ok, then: david duchovony, david duchovony, david duchony.

2. nurse jackie — a little opiate does wonders for a girl’s libido. plus she’s edgy enough to be one of the girls i could be tight with. see girls bore me.

1. six feet under – you can’t go wrong when you combine the morbid, morose, pursuit of art, and heavy drama among quirky people. my heart raced and i cried like a baby at many an episode. plus driving a hearse as your personal vehicle is so badass. amazing soundtracks to boot.

  1. January 8, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Good list.

    I thought about putting Mad Men on my list because the season ending episode this year was that good but it is only a few seasons in and I don’t like it any more than my top five.

    I am only two seasons into Dexter so I am going to have to get back to you on that.

  2. January 8, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Boo, no Battlestar Galactica. Never heard of Chelsea Lately – sounds like a Disney Channel show, but I’m assuming it’s not 🙂

  3. Linda
    January 8, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    I worked with a, “Nurse Jackie,” and she scared the shit out of me. I was young and didn’t understand that her badassness saved lives. It did!!

  4. Kathy
    January 9, 2010 at 3:50 am

    I SOOOOO miss “Six Feet Under” – I loved when the momma Fisher started sleeping with the young mortician she took in (the actor from Office), and Federico and Nate definitely kept me, um……happy in my thoughts……

  5. January 11, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    SFU is my fav show ever. the series finale made me cry like a baby.

  6. January 29, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Props for SFU and Mad Men, but uhh… No ‘Arrested Development’? No ‘The Wire’??? Shame, shame.

  1. February 18, 2010 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

