Home > Depression Hurts Why Trigger It > Pristiq Depresses Me

Pristiq Depresses Me

January 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Have you seen this spot for the depression drug, Pristiq? If you weren’t depressed before, you sure as hell will be once you’ve watched it.

The woman in the ad sees herself as a wind-up doll without any torque.  For anyone like me with a predisposition for depression, you should leave the room or fast forward immediately through this commercial.

My Grandma was manic-depressive. My poor Mother found her one day in a tub of blood with her wrists cut. My Mom thought it was her fault because she had asked Grandma for prom money that Grandma didn’t have. Saddest story I’ve ever heard in my entire life. Grandma spent the rest of her life in and out of the Binghamton State Asylum. She underwent electric shock treatment. Was put on lithium. They were always adjusting her meds so we never knew what Grandma we’d be getting.

I too have felt like I needed to “wind myself up just to get out of bed, sadness, loss of interest, trouble concentrating, and a lack of energy.”  Sadly enough it was my Mom I told the first time I felt suicidal. I was a senior attending college in Oswego, NY, and it was the longest winter of my life.  At that time, I didn’t know about the horrible trauma my Mom had experienced with Grandma. The next time I felt suicidal, I didn’t tell Mom. I called a hotline.

Every time I see this fucking commercial, I get totally depressed. I remember my Mom’s sad story. I remember what it felt like to be on the brink.

What kind of manufacturer makes a drug for depression and then triggers the very condition it’s treating in its ads? Way to sell more pills douchebuckler. I don’t think these pharma companies should be allowed to market to consumers.  They’re putting ideas in our spongy, paranoid brains and causing phantom symptoms. 

Maybe the makers of Oxycontin could start advertising. “Life sucks. Opiates make you feel euphoric.” Or, “Feeling shy and nervous about your next social engagement? Try Oxy, you’ll talk your head off. Side effects include slurring and unexpected horniness.”

How ’bout someone starts serving Ritalin ads during SpongeBob to the kids of these pharma marketing geniuses? “Hey Dad, I think I have ADHD. Can you score some Ritalin?”

Besides that Pristiq doll is Chucky clown creepy.

  1. Linda
    January 18, 2010 at 6:18 pm

    Only you could make me laugh while addressing such a subject. We sure do need to talk!

    • January 19, 2010 at 2:06 am

      glad you got to the end with the funny bits. oh, we’re talking!

  2. Jenny
    January 18, 2010 at 10:17 pm

    well put, my friend! this ad is depressing and I am trying to wind myself up as of late….hate winter!

  3. January 19, 2010 at 2:06 am

    hate hate hate winter. it’s no time for these ads! we’re already dealing with low light.

  4. Linda
    January 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Laughing to get you through sadness is one of the few gifts from my Irish upbringing I embrace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

